L-R John McGuinness, Mark Guthrie, Michael Rutter pictured with the 
SES TT Zero Trophy at the TT launch in Milntown

Highest number of entries since the inaugural race in June 2009
Race is on to break the 100mph lap
EIGHTEEN competitors, the highest number of entries since the inaugural race in June 2009, have confirmed their participation in the 2012 SES TT Zero Challenge; all vying to be the first to break the 100mph lap on an electric bike around the world famous Mountain Course
Now in its fourth year the TT Zero emissions race has captured the imagination of universities, corporations and hi-tech institution, and this year is no different with teams from a range of institutions and organisations across the globe lining up on the starting grid.
The current record lap holders in the TT Zero race are US Based outfit Team Segway Racing MotoCzysz from Portland, Oregon with a lap of 99.604mph which they set in 2011. However, recent technological advancements, such as increasing the speed of vehicles by offsetting the weight of an increased battery whilst retaining high voltage means that MotoCzysz will be facing stiff competition from the likes of Japanese Team Mugen and Indian Team Agni, who set the benchmark for the event with its stunning success in 2009.
The riders taking part this year include seasoned TT competitors such as seventeen-time champion John McGuinness who will be making his TT Zero debut, piloting Team Mugen’s 120 horsepower Mugen EV machine, as well as newcomers Bournemouth Kawasaki/Zytek Automotive and TGM IOT – Vienna.
Laurence Skelly MHK, Political Member for the Department of Economic Development with responsibility for Clean Tech, commented:
‘The TT course is an historic challenge and it is great to see both new and established riders embrace the zero emissions race. The Isle of Man Government has always been a strong supporter of its manufacturing and innovation sector and we are grateful to SES for their continued support in this area. We look forward to welcoming the teams, riders and supporters to the Isle of Man.’
Dr Ken Milne, Senior Manager for Energy Policy at the Department of Economic Development commented on this year’s entrants:
‘The TT Zero event has continued to go from strength to strength since the inaugural race in 2009. Each year we see developers showcase new technologies in one of the most testing racing environments and this year is no different. The event also provides us with a perfect platform to showcase the Isle of Man’s credentials as a low carbon, clean tech centre of excellence.’
Mark Guthrie, MD, of event sponsors SES Satellite Leasing Ltd, the world leading Satellite Communications provider that is again supporting the event, commented:
‘We are delighted to see the event growing in stature in our second year of supporting it. As a company we pride ourselves on technical excellence and all of the participating teams deserve great credit for their groundbreaking efforts. The lap times bear witness to the remarkable progress that has already been made and we anticipate major progress again this year.’
The TT Zero Challenge Lap Award of £10,000 will be presented to the first team to complete a lap at over 100mph, or in the case of multiple 100mph laps being achieved the award will be made to the highest placed finisher. There will also be limited edition trophies, designed by a Manx artist, presented to the first 10 teams to average over 100mph lap on the Mountain course.
Full list of competitors
Country of Team
Michael Rutter                 
Team Segway Racing MotoCzysz               
Mark Miller                      
Team Segway Racing MotoCzysz               
John McGuinness             
Team MUGEN*                                          
George Spence                
Ecotricity Kingston                                   
Paul Owen                      
Ecotricity Kingston                                   
Dan Kneen                     
MANTTX Racing                                       
Isle of Man
Yoshinari Matsushita        
Komatti- Mirai Racing*                                
Russ Mountford               
Brunel X Racing                                       
Roy Richardson               
Imperial College London                           
Antonio Maeso                
Tork/Haiyin Racing                                   
Paul Shoesmith               
John Burrows                  
Lightning Motorcycles                               
James Hillier                    
Bournemouth Kawasaki/Zytek Automotive*   
Rob Barber                      
TGM IOT – Vienna*                                    
Jenny Tinmouth               
Team Agni                                               
Rider TBC
Team Agni                                               
Rider TBC
Team Agni                                               
Rider TBC
Vercarmoto Racing*                                    
(* denotes new team entry)
The Isle of Man TT Zero Race is in its fourth year attracting a wide variety of competitors trying to break the 100mph lap. The Isle of Man is an ideal location for hosting the TT Zero Race with its fast growing clean tech sector and being home to a number of manufacturing businesses in the electric vehicle area looking to maximize the financial value of their securely protected Intellectual Property on the Isle of Man.
SES is a world-leading telecommunications satellite operator
The company is the TT ‘Satellite Technology’ partner and is the title sponsor of the ground-breaking SES TT Zero Race, for clean emissions bikes, that takes place on Wednesday, June 6, 2012. The company has a fleet of more than 45 geostationary satellites that can reach 99% of the world’s population.
SES satellites are the world’s leading television distribution platform and broadcast the equivalent of more than 100,000 hours of TV programming every day. Located at prime orbital locations, high performance satellites carry the latest high-definition (HD) and 3DTV channels.
SES help leading broadcasters and media operators deliver about 6000 channels of digital TV and radio to over 245 million homes around the world. They also provide vital communication services and broadband access to businesses and to government administrations worldwide.