Tourism Awards Winners 2010 Announced

Isle of Man Tourism’s fifth annual Tourism Awards presentation took place today, Tuesday 7th December 2010, in the Prince Albert Suite at the Empress Hotel, following on from the success of previous years.

The awards recognise the outstanding customer service and dedication provided by individuals and organisations who support the development of tourism on the Island and make a significant commitment to both quality and service.  A record breaking 2,300 nominations were received from the visitors and residents who were asked to identify tourism organisations that provided an enjoyable and reliable holiday experience.

The judging panel consisted of Gary Roberts, Deputy Chief Constable – Isle of Man Police, Sue Gee, Managing Director – TLC Business Solutions, Paul Murphy, Training and Business Development Manager – Isle of Man College and Helen Byrne, Director – Isle of Man Newspapers.  The criteria used for judging was in line with the tourism strategy and vision for the future of tourism on the Island.

The guest speaker at the event was Gary Roberts who spoke about the importance of the Tourism Awards and how the judges selected the winners from each of the nine categories.

Minister for the Department of Economic Development, Allan Bell MHK, said:

‘These Awards celebrate the Island’s very best tourism businesses and I would like to congratulate each and every one of the nominees and winners in all nine categories.  All of the finalists are winners and they should take pride that they are setting the standards for others to follow.

‘I would also like to extend my thanks to the four judges, Gary Roberts, Sue Gee, Paul Murphy and Helen Byrne, each of whom have a wealth of experience within the service, hospitality and training industries and had the difficult task of selecting the winners.’

Department of Economic Development Member with responsibility for Tourism, Geoff Corkish, MBE, MHK said:

‘We know that in the current climate many businesses are experiencing difficult times and it is more important than ever to provide recognition for the work going on here in the Isle of Man to welcome the our visitors.   These businesses provide first-class products and services and we must not forget how much they assist Isle of Man Tourism to ensure the Island’s economy goes from strength to strength.

‘The Tourism Awards celebrate the achievements of businesses and individuals who represent the very best that the Isle of Man has to offer.  Many congratulations to all our 2010 winners and finalists.’

The winners chosen in each of the nine categories are as follows:

Best Customer Service
HQ Bar & Restaurant , Douglas – Angela McCluskey, Ian Cain, Chris Tomkins

Best Eating Out Experience
Tapas the Spanish Restaurante, Port Jack, Douglas – Manolo Segovia and Jill Lovrich

Best Accommodation of the Year, Hotel
The Welbeck, Douglas – Michael and Irene George

Best Tourist Accommodation of the Year, Guest Accommodation
Kings Guest House, Douglas – Carol Howard

Best Accommodation of the Year, Self-Catering
Laxey Harbour Chalets – Brian and Barbara Quirk

Best Accommodation of the Year, Campsite/Hostel
Laxey Campsite – Susan Jones and Pete Burgess

Best Attraction of the Year
Nautical Museum – Billy Stowell, Visitor Services Assistant        

Best Town or Village
Peel – Commissioners Ray Harmer and Peter Leadley

Best Event of the Year
Easter Festival of Full Length Plays – Michael Lees and Aalin Cunningham

Special Award for outstanding contribution to Tourism
This Award went to Billy Stowell, Visitor Services Assistant, The Nautical Museum in Castletown.  Billy was recommended for this Award by the judges as they felt he was an integral part of the attraction and without him the museum would not be quite the experience it is now.